#### CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

## Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel

held on Friday, 12th February, 2010 in Committee Suite 1, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor D Thompson (Chairman) Councillor G Merry (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors J P Findlow, T Jackson, S Jones and G Merry

#### **APOLGIES**

Councillors B Dykes and D Flude

#### 17 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No Member made any specific declaration of interest in any item of business at this point in the proceedings. Notwithstanding this, each Member declared a personal interest in agenda item 6 (Local Authority Appointments to School Governing Bodies) in respect of any nominee who was a Cheshire East Councillor.

#### 18 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

In accordance with Procedure Rules 11 and 35, a total of 10 minutes was allocated for members of the public to address the Panel on any matter relevant to its work.

There were no members of the public in attendance and the Panel, therefore, proceeded to its next business.

#### 19 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

**RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the meeting held on 16<sup>th</sup> October 2009 be approved as a correct record.

#### 20 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED:** That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

### 21 LOCAL AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel considered the report of the Strategic Director – People, which informed Members of current Local Authority School Governor vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and recommended individuals for appointment and reappointment to identified posts.

Additional information in respect of twelve new appointments and two reappointments was tabled at the meeting.

There were 359 LA Governor positions across Cheshire East's 151 maintained schools. Currently 87 (24.2%) of these positions were vacant. The latest national benchmarking information (2009) showed 10.1% of all LA Governor positions to be vacant and 10.8% of all governor positions (of all categories) to be vacant, nationally.

In line with the agreed procedures, nominations to these vacant positions had been invited from schools and from Local Members. Any individuals who had approached the School Governance Service directly, or via the School Governors' One Stop Shop (SGOSS), had also been considered against appropriate vacancies.

The usual term of office for a school governor was four years but could be shorter, the shortest allowable term being one year. The Panel had previously agreed that all terms of office for Cheshire East LA Governors would be four years.

**RESOLVED:** (a) That the following appointments be approved with effect from 23<sup>rd</sup> January 2010 for a four-year period –

- BROKEN CROSS COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Cllr D J Beckford
- 2. EATON BANK SCHOOL Mrs S M Aston
- 3. EATON BANK SCHOOL Mrs C C Caswell
- 4. HIGH LEGH PRIMARY SCHOOL Clir A J Knowles
- 5. MARLBOROUGH PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr A Mierzejewski
- 6. MONKS COPPENHALL PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs M Lamb

- 7. OAKEFIELD PRIMARY AND NURSERY SCHOOL Mr P Chesters
- 8. THE DINGLE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr C W Edwards
- 9. WILLASTON PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs J Bratherton
- WISTASTON CHURCH LANE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr N A Simms
- BEECHWOOD PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Gordon Fyffe
- 12. BOLLINBROOK CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Miss Martha Christabel Marshall
- 13. FALLIBROOME HIGH SCHOOL Councillor Ainsley Arnold
- GORSEY BANK PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Christopher Stubbs
- 15. HOLMES CHAPEL PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Martin Elliott
- 16. OAKEFIELD PRIMARY AND NURSERY SCHOOL Miss Geraldine Dawn Brooks
- 17. RUSKIN SPORTS AND LANGUAGES COLLEGE Mr Gordon Fyffe
- 18. SANDBACH COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Miss Rebecca Darlington
- 19. ST MARY'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL, MIDDLEWICH Mr Jonathan Williams
- 20. WRENBURY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Rachel Emma Bulkeley
- 21. WYCHE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Jo Stainsby
- (b) That it be noted that the following appointment had been made since the last meeting of the Panel, in accordance with the procedures for emergency LA Governor appointments to be made to schools in the Council's "Schools Causing Concern" programme.

## 22. HASLINGTON PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs C A Davies Appointed with effect from 15/12/2009

- (c) That the following Local Authority Governors who had requested reappointment and whose term of office ended on the date indicated, be reappointed with effect from the following day
  - 23. MILLFIELDS PRIMARY SCHOOL W S McGinnis 13/02/2010
  - 24. AUDLEM ST JAMES'S CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Nancy-May Wilton-Morgan 20/03/2010
  - 25. PUSS BANK SCHOOL Councillor David Neilson 13/01/2010
- (d) That the nomination in respect of Hungerford Primary School be deferred to the next meeting;
- (e) That it be noted that one of the nominations in respect of Monks Coppenhall Primary School was withdrawn as the nominee was an employee of the school and, therefore, prohibited from office.
- (Notes: (a) Prior to discussion of the nomination for Broken Cross Community Primary School, Councillor D Thompson declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the item on the basis that she was a friend of Councillor Beckford, the nominee. Having declared the interest, she withdrew from the meeting during discussion and voting and re-joined the meeting after consideration of the item. Councillor G Merry assumed the Chair for this item; and
- (b) Councillor G Merry declared a personal interest in the Dingle Primary School on the basis that her grand-children were pupils at the school.)

#### 22 RE-ADMITTANCE OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED:** That the press and public be re-admitted to the meeting.

#### 23 DATE OF NEXT MEETING/CALENDAR OF MEETINGS - 2010-2011

The Panel was invited to agree its meetings for the new Municipal Year.

**RESOLVED:** That the Panel meet on the following dates at Macclesfield Town Hall, meetings to commence at 10.00 am –

28<sup>th</sup> May 22<sup>nd</sup> October 4<sup>th</sup> February 2011

# The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 11.05 am Councillor D Thompson (Chairman)